A Further Journey Through the World of Classical Music Since 1900 – Semester 1


Description: A further journey through the world of Classical Music since 1900: a narrated discussion with examples from each decade.

Tutor: Roger Jennings
Duration: 16 weeks
Start Date: 14th February 2024
Day & time: Wednesday 9.45 – 11.45 am

Please choose an option below
SKU: N/A Categories: , ,


Crèche: The crèche is not available for this session.

Roger Jennings

Additional information

Course Type

Casual, Full-time

Course Time

Wednesday AM

1 review for A Further Journey Through the World of Classical Music Since 1900 – Semester 1

  1. bpasottiҘ

    Thoroughly Rattled

    You could, perhaps, say that Roger Jennings’s group, ‘A Further Journey Through the World of Classical Music Since 1900’, was thoroughly Rattled in the first semester. Roger had resourcefully discovered a series of videotapes made by Sir Simon Rattle in which he introduced and contextualised the work of important 20thcentury composers – Schoenberg, Mahler, Ravel, Messaien and others. Rattle was able to colour his analysis with wonderful performances by the Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, his orchestra at that time.

    Where Rattle had not covered the particular composer, Roger had trawled through the furthest corners of the archive to find informative video introductions by other musicians.

    These overview introductions constituted the first half of each class, and performances the second half. It is a formula that has worked wonderfully.

    There are eight of us in the class, and we all enjoy it immensely. Several of us attend various Perth musical events, such as WASO, so there are often some lively discussions about what we have heard during the preceding week.

    The second term starts us in America, takes us back into Europe, and will conclude with forgotten Black Classical Music, including the wonderful Florence Price.

    Richard Harding.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.